Even More Renunciations And Testimonials

Posted: April 30, 2009 in Secret Societies
The following renunciation of Elder SMITH ROGERS, we take from the Batavia Advocate. It appears that it was handed to two or three different Editors, who severally neglected to publish it, before it reached the Batavia Advocate. If there were not some Free Presses in the country what should we do? – Boston Free Press.
 
"Being led by the insinuations of an aspiring mind to know the secrets of the Institution of Freemasonry I voluntarily became entangled in those bonds, which, after due deliberation, I find to be contrary to moral or christian obligations. I therefore consider it a duty I owe to God, to give public notice to the fraternity, and my Brethren in Christ, that I do not consider those obligations I have taken binding, or that God can look upon them with the least degree of allowance. I do therefore freely renounce them and consider myself entirely absolved from the same." –
Dated at Bennington, 31st January, 1831.
 
                                                                                                                   SMITH ROGERS.
 
Source: Star, May 18, 1831, page 2
 
 
RENUNCIATION.
 
Obey the dictates of conscience. "Obey God rather than man." In obedience to this scriptural injunction, and for the good of my country, I feel it an imperative duty to bear my testimony, with the thousands who have broken allegiance, from the powers of darkness, by briefly publishing to the world my views of the masonic institution.
I was initiated into the "sublime mysteries" of Freemasonry in the city of St. John’s, New Brunswick, in 1826, and have since taken all the regular degrees to Past Master, the last of which, (Past Master,) I took in Campeachy, South America. The oaths, ceremonies, and manner of initiation, in the lodges where I received my various degrees are substantially and I think literally the same, as those published in William Morgan’s Illustrations of Masonry," so far as the publication goes.
On a full and candid investigation of the masonic Oaths, which are the bulwark of the whole system of darkness, I consider them such as ought not, and cannot be binding on the conscience. They are illegal; profane, blasphemous, and in direct collision with the laws of God and the spirit of our free institutions. I consider the influence of masonry on society arbitrary and oppressive – where the rights of the many are sacrificed to the artifice of the designing few either in conclave, or in detached squads, bound by the oath and grip. Recent occurrences stand as items in the black catalogue of proof which might be adduced: I therefore absolve myself from all allegiance to the Masonic Institution, and all its illegal concealments, "murder and treason not except."                                                
 
                                                                                                            JOHN T. WHEELER
                                                                                                          Danville, July 7th, 1831.
 
The above renunciation shows that masonry is the same in the United States, the British provinces and South America. – Masons declared it was alike all over the world, until by denying the truth of recent disclosures, they hoped to save the "Handmaid" from the fate due to his crimes.
 
Source: Star, August 16, 1831, page 2
 
 
A RENUNCIATION!
From the Troy Watchman.
 
Mr. Editor. – If you think the following will be of any public benefit, you may give it a place in your paper – and when a more convenient opportunity offers I will give you a detailed account of certain circumstances relating to the fate of William Morgan.
 
                                                                                                               JOHN PRICE.
 
I, the subscriber, John Price, of the town of Ledyard in Cayuga county, now of the city of Troy, of lawful age say that I was made a mason in Friendship Lodge in Ontario county, and have been honored with the Royal Arch Degree, if it may be called honor. As far as I am acquainted with masonry, I believe the institution to be corrupt and dangerous to our free republican government and often pervertive of justice. I have every reason to believe they are bound to carry into effect all the by-laws of the institution, even if it is to take the life of a mason who exposes the secrets of masonry.
 
                                                                                                                  JOHN PRICE.
                                                                                                            Troy, May 30, 1831
 
Source: Star, July 5, 1831, page 2
 
 
ANTI-MASONIC.
READ! READ!! READ!!!
 
A conclusion to which every Man will come that reads genuine Republican papers.
From the Albany Journal.
 
MR. WEED – Some days since, a neighbor placed in my hands your paper, containing the report of the trial of Adams at Lockport, with a request that I would read the same, assuring me at the same time, that a perusal of that report would change my opinion on the subject of Masonry. At first I declined reading it, but upon a renewal of the request, and after being earnestly entreated by him, I promised a compliance, not doubting but that my impressions upon the report, would remain unchanged, but in this case I am free to confess, I misjudged.
The evidence upon that trial, as detailed in the report, shows clearly, that a citizen was taken from Canandaigua in a violent manner, and without any authority, and transported to Niagara, and there detained, until the members of the Masonic Institution in canada could be applied to, to receive Morgan, and forcibly to send him to Quebec, and there put him on board a man-of-war, and send him out of the country. All this was done, it appears, for the sole purpose of separating him from Miller, hoping thereby, to prevent the publication of a book which it was feared would reveal some of the secrets of Masonry; and done too, by members of the craft.
Here then, is a complete development of this nefarious transaction. The only doubt which can be raised by any one in this business, is, as to the extent to which the masonic institution at large, has participated. The number and character of those who are proved to have been concerned in the business, warrants the conclusion, that the Masonic Institution in the western part of this State were directly concerned; their appeal to their masonic brethren in Canada, clearly proves that they acted as Masons, and that they expected the cordial cooperation of all Masons; in this expectation, they do not appear to have been disappointed, until they reached Canada. But were additional circumstances necessary to support that conclusion, they might find in abundance, in the conduct of Masons in that region of western New York.
I am no Mason, and I can further add, that until the perusal of this report, I had no prejudices against Masonry. There are, no doubt, many, very many men of integrity, who are members of that institution. Still I am not aware of any essential benefit resulting from the institution to the community, and as I am fully persuaded that the institution in the hands of unprincipled men, might be wielded much to the public injury, and be rendered by corrupt politicians dangerous to the well being of the republic. I have come to the conclusion, that it is my duty as a citizen, to contribute my mite towards abolishing the Institution; and it does appear to me, that the most effectual way of obtaining the end, will be to withhold my vote at all elections for officers of State, from persons who still adhere to the Masonic Institution. Though I have heretofore acted cordially with the Jackson party, I must be permitted hereafter to act politically, in a manner which will tend most effectually to put down Masonry.                  An Elector.
 
From the Middlebury (Vt.) Republican.
TESTIMONIALS OF GOOD CHARACTER!
From the Montpelier Patriot.
NOTICE.
 
At a regular communication of St. John’s Lodge, No. 31, holden at Springfield, on Tuesday 22nd ult. Voted, that Horatio G. Hawkins, and Samuel W. Porter be expelled for unmasonic conduct.
Attest, VAN. PARKER, Sec’y pro tem.
 
Printers friendly to the institution will please notice the above.
 
We are not acquainted, in any way, with the above named gentlemen, but presume they are seceding masons, since the fraternity do not expel men for any other offence. Perjury, kidnapping and murder are not unmasonic, or at least, it is certain they do not expel those convicted of such slight transgressions!
 
Source: Star, April 6, 1831, page 2
 
RENUNCIATION.
 
In 1815, I joined the Freemasons in Schuyler Lodge, No. 218, Saratoga, New York, and in July, 1830, having been fully convinced of the irreligious principles of the institution, I wrote a renunciation and put it into the hand of a confidant to be forwarded for publication; but I learn it has not been done. Now, since the obligations of Freemasons are delivered under a false pretension (because they do infringe on their duty to God) and since the conduct of Freemasons evidences to me, that the penalties of those obligations are to be executed by the Fraternity in case of violation, (contrary to my former belief) – IN THE NAME OF GOD, I RENOUNCE THEM FOREVER.
 
                                                                                                            NOAH SPALDING.
 
Source: Star, September 20, 1831, page 4
 

Leave a Reply

